I’m the King of Jubilee Jumbles

artist Nayland Blake natters on about art and other things

Pack it up…

leave a comment »

Tonight is the last night of my month of housesitting in Tivoli. How did it go? In most respects beautifully. Got thirty drawings done, and two scuptures (one a small thank you present for my host). I didn’t burn the house down by accident or get biten by some evil tick. I read five books, but failed to stay abreast of LJ. I didn’t get any of the writing done that I was hoping to do.

Most of all I canme to realize that it’s time for me to look at the next ten years of my life and what I want them to be like. The sensation of waking up in the moring and heading into the studio has spoiled me for my current New York patterns. I need to put art making back at the center of my life.

And now the problem of how to deal with the stuff that has accumulated up here: the supplies I’ve brought up, the work I’ve made, the clothes, the books I’ve purchased. Tomorrow I’m getting a ride down, which will end in me handing out pamphlets along the pride march route. SO how WIll I deal with all the crap I want to bring back?

Written by naylandblake

June 25, 2005 at 10:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment