I’m the King of Jubilee Jumbles

artist Nayland Blake natters on about art and other things

Preview….

leave a comment »

Photobucket

My mom asked for one thing for Christmas: for me to scan a bunch of family slides she got from her sister. I’ve done so and I’m giving her a digital frame to look at them on, but here’s a preview of one of me from the early Sixties on the lawn of my Grandparent’s house in New Bedford.

Going through the pictures, it’s the details that arrest me: the crocheted pillows from the couch, a wallpaper pattern, a glass pig on a coffee table, a bowl of cooked onions at a holiday dinner. More than any of the faces, those long gone objects call me back to my childhood in the same way that the sweep of this lawn remains vivid to me, even though I haven’t seen it in that way for over forty years.

Written by naylandblake

December 24, 2008 at 9:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

