I’m the King of Jubilee Jumbles

artist Nayland Blake natters on about art and other things

Sea Squatters….

with one comment

Photobucket

For some reason my block was infiltrated this morning by a platoon of gulls. As I set out for work, I noticed that the pigeons and sparrows had been cowed into sullen clumps along the the north side of the street, while the sea birds wheeled above the overflowing gutters.

I don’t know what this incursion portends. For the most part the gulls have restricted themselves to occasionally haunting the parking lot of Western Beef, a couple of blocks over. This is the first time that I’ve ever seen them take an interest in my block. For what it’s worth I live pretty much fully inland in terms of Brooklyn, and I’m not thrilled at the prospect of them becoming full time residents. We no longer even have a full size phone booth to take refuge in, should things go awry.

Written by naylandblake

February 2, 2009 at 3:15 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello,

    I enjoyed browsing through your blog and can sympathize with the beard dilemmas…

    I have enjoyed your work since I got aware of it in the last few years. I was wondered if you have ever produced artist books in which you tackle some of the preoccupations that permeate your work.

    Lots of peace,

    Antonio

    Antonio La Pastina

    February 2, 2009 at 4:35 pm


Leave a Reply

